Quick tip 17 – Resize an image

This is part 17 of the Photoshop quick tip series where you will learn how to resize an image. Resizing an image is useful for reducing the size of an image file. Note that increasing or decreasing the size of an image too much can cause the image to become distorted and blurry.

Firstly, open an image in Photoshop. Then in the menu bar choose Image > Image Size and the following window dialog will appear.



Now, changing the image size is as simple as adjusting the width and height of the pixel dimensions. By default the ‘Constrain Proportions’ option is checked which means that if either one the width or height settings are changed. The other option will be changed to match the aspect ratio of the overall image file. However, if you want custom dimensions you can uncheck this option.

Quick tip 16 – Add extra canvas space

This is part 16 of the Photoshop quick tip series where you will learn how to add more canvas space around an image.

You need to firstly have an image open in Photoshop. Then from the menu bar select Image > Canvas Size and you should see the following dialog window should open up.




To increase the canvas size, you simply adjust the width and height settings to whatever size you like. You can also set the anchor point of the canvas which will specify the direction where you want to increase the canvas size. So, for example if you want to increase the canvas in the left direction then you would select the right anchor point.

For more quick tips, checkout the post on the Photoshop quick tip series.

Quick tip 15 – Find centre of an image

This is part 15 of the Photoshop quick tip series. In this tip you will learn how to quickly find the centre of an image.

You need to firstly open up an image in Photoshop. Then choose Select > All from the menu bar or Ctrl + A. Your image should be selected like below.



Now, you need to enter into ‘Free Transform Mode’ by pressing Ctrl + T on the keyboard. You should now see a crosshair at the centre of the image like below:




Drag guides out to the centre of the crosshair and you should notice that it will snap into position. To remove the free transform mode, hit the Esc key on the keyboard. And to remove the selection around the image, hit Ctrl + D.



You should now be able to quickly find the centre of an image.

Colour correction in Photoshop

In this tutorial you will learn how to perform colour correction in Photoshop using the Hue/Saturation adjustments settings and the Quick mask tool. I will be correcting the man’s t-shirt colour in this tutorial.

Colour correction in Photoshop

Step 1

Open an image in Photoshop and the reset the colour palette by pressing the ‘D’ key on the keyboard.




Step 2

Select the Brush tool with an appropriate size and then enter the quick mask mode by selecting the Q key. Then paint over the areas of the image where you don’t want to change the colour. Since, I only want to change the t-shirt colour this would be most of the image like below.




Step 3

Exit out of the Quick mask mode by selecting the Q key, and you should see the area around the t-shirt selected.




Step 4

Select Image > Adjustment > Hue/Saturation and then drag the sliders to your liking. I have added the following settings: Hue = 50, Saturation = 69 and Lightness = -18. Make sure you select the saturation checkbox.



You should now be able to perform colour correction in Photoshop.

Digital makeover series

In this Photoshop series I will be providing tutorials on how to perform a complete digital makeover. This makeover will include the whole body and will be digitally enhancing various parts of the body. The techniques involved in this series will be fairly straight forward even if you have no knowledge of Adobe Photoshop. Please remember to subscribe for the latest digital series.

Airbrushing skin technique - Airbrush skin to make it look smooth and healthy with no wrinkles.
Remove red eyes from image – Learn how to use remove the red eyes from an image using the red eye tool.
Change eye colour
– Transform the colour of your eyes in three simple steps.
Add lip gloss – Give your lips some extra shine with this tutorial.
Multicoloured iris – Instead of having on eye colour, why not have multicoloured iris.
Create an incredible Hulk look – Why not look like the incredible hulk with some nice green skin.

Partial Desaturate in Photoshop

In this tutorial you will learn how to perform partial desaturating to an image. This means some parts of the image will remain black and white and other part will be in colour. You will need to use the quick mask tool for this tutorial, but you can also use the pen tool if you wish.


Partial Desaturate

Step 1

Open an image in Photoshop and duplicate the background layer (Ctrl + J). Then reset the colour palette by pressing the ‘D’ key.




Step 2

Select the Quick mask tool and hit the ‘Q’ key on the keyboard to enter quick mask mode. Now paint over the areas of the image where you don’t want the black and white effect to appear. Note that this is the opposite way around. If you make a mistake you can use the eraser tool.




Step 3

Exit Quick mask mode by selecting the ‘Q’ key again. Then choose Select > Inverse and your image should look like below:




Step 4

Now select Image > Adjustment > Desaturate and deselect the selection (Ctrl + D) and your image should look like below.


Analogue TV effect

In this Photoshop tutorial you will learn how to create an analogue TV effect on an image. This effect will give blurry horizontal lines on your image. I have used a free stock image of a living room for this tutorial. A huge list of free stock image can be found here.


Analogue TV effect

Step 1

Open your image in Photoshop and duplicate the background layer by pressing Ctrl + J on the keyboard.




Step 2

Select Filter> Sketch> Halftone and add the following settings. I have set the size to 1, the contrast to 12, and the pattern type to line.




Step 3

Add a motion blur to your image by selecting Filter > Blur > Motion Blur then apply the following settings. You may change the distance depending on the size of your image.




Step 4

To return colour to your image, you need to change the blending option of the layer. Now change the blending option to ‘Soft Light’.



You should now have a Analogue TV effect.