Create a layered glowing text effect

In this tutorial, we will create this effect using very basic Photoshop tools and layering effects. This tutorial is simple enough for a beginner to understand, but I should warn you that in this tutorial there ends up being over 60 active text layers, which will require a heavy use of your computer's memory. Let's jump into this tutorial and layer some glowing text.

Click

Step 1

Make a new document that is 2000px by 1200px. Then make a new Gradient Adjustment Layer with a linear gradient that goes from a dark gray (#464646) at the bottom to black (#000000) at the top. This will be our background base.

Step 2

Make another linear Gradient Adjustment Layer above the previous one, and make it a rainbow of colors of your choice. There are some colorful presets that you can choose from in the gradient palette, or create your own. Set the layer's Fill down to 25%. Then set the layer's blending mode to Color.

Tip: When you set the blending mode to color it makes it so the layer only affects the color of everything below it, while leaving the lightness/darkness alone.

Step 3

Finally make another Gradient Adjustment Layer above the previous two. This one will be a radial gradient. Set this one up so that the only 2 colors in the gradient are black and then make the transparency go from 100% at one end and 0% at the other end.

If you see that black is covering the center of the image, check the Reverse box. Then make it so the black goes around the edges of the canvas. Set the layer opacity to 65%. I moved the transparency handles around a little to get the exact effect that I wanted.

Step 4

Now lets begin with the text treatment. Hit (T) for the type tool, and make a (single click) on the canvas. Then type your letter, in my case a P. Then grab the Move tool and (Hit CTRL+T) and transform the letter, adjust it until it's the size that you want it. Hit (T) again for the type tool, and if it's not already, make the letter black by clicking the text color box in the property bar. Set the letter layer's blending mode to Screen. The letter will disappear.

Step 5

(Double click) to the right of the letter layer's name in the layer palette to bring up the layer styles palette. Put an Outer Glow and a Stroke on the layer with the exact settings that you see below. You will see a very faint image of the letter now.

Let's use this first letter as a starting point for all the text in the image. Once we layer several different letters on top of each other, our effect will come to life.

Step 6

Duplicate the letter layer by dragging it down to the New Layer button at the bottom of the layer palette. Select the type tool (T) and then change the font on the new layer. If the new font doesn't line up how you want to hit (CTRL+T) to free transform the new letter. Make sure that you always line up the baseline of the letters. You can move the anchor point to the base line when you are transforming to keep it lined up correctly.

Now do this step 20 times, each time using a different font. I chose to use all different fonts that have serifs. You can use all fonts that are sans-serif if you like, but I wouldn't mix the two.

Step 7

Select all the text layers that you have. Then hit (CTRL+G) to group them. With the group selected in the layer palette, hit (V) for the move tool. Then (while holding ALT), click and drag on the letters on the canvas to duplicate them. Drag them to the right where you want the next letter to be. Now there should be 2 groups of text in the layer palette. Turn off all the letter layers in the new group (except the bottom one) by clicking in the little 'eye' icon next to each one.

Now select the text tool (T), and highlight the single letter. Then change it to the next letter that you want, in my case an S. Finally, turn the S layer off. Then turn on the next one and do the same. Repeat this until all the letters in your new group are changed. Turn all the layers back on.

Repeat this step for each new letter you need.

Step 8

Select the elliptical marquee tool and make a very thin ellipse at the base of your letters. Then Feather the selection about 20px. Enter quickmask mode (Q). Then go to Filter>Blur>Motion Blur. Make the angle 0 and the length 700px and hit OK. This gives us a nice fade out to the left and right sides. Then exit quickmask mode (Q).

Now make a curves adjustment layer above the gradients, but below the letter groups. Then apply a curve that looks like the one below. This just gives our letters something to sit on.

Step 9

Make a new document that is 300px by 300px. Double click on the background layer to make it an active layer. (Double click) to the right of the layer name to open the layer styles palette. Apply a color overlay to make the layer black. Then add an inner stroke that is white to make a border. You can see my settings below.

Go to Layer>Flatten Image to flatten the image. Hit CTRL+A to select all and then go Edit>Define Pattern.

Step 10

Go back to your other document. Make a new blank layer just above your curves layer by hitting the New Layer button at the bottom of the layer palette. Not go to Edit>Fill and select Pattern for the Contents. Then select your black box that should be at the end of the list, and hit OK.

Now Hit (CTRL+T) to transform the layer so that it fits in the foreground space. Then (right/control+click) anywhere in the transform box and select perspective. Drag the bottom right handle way out so you get a nice perspective on the pattern layer. Set the layer's blending mode to screen and the opacity to 15%.

Step 11

There is one last step to add a finishing touch. Select the type layers and duplicate them by dragging them down to the New Layer button. With the new groups selected hit (CMD+T) then (right/control+click) in the transform box and select Flip Vertical. Move them down so they look like a reflection.

With all the reflection groups selected hit (CTRL+G) to put them into another group. Set that group's opacity to 25%. Add a mask to the group by clicking on the Add Layer Mask button at the bottom of the layer palette. With the mask selected hit (G) for the gradient tool and apply a linear gradient from black to white, so the reflection fades out as it goes down to the edge of the image.

Conclusion

This tutorial covered some simple steps and effects to achieve stylish results. The final image is below. If there are any questions, put them in the comments section. I will answer them as soon as I can. I hope you enjoy this tut!

Sourse: www.psdtuts.com

Creating a sphere

Reading this Photoshop tutorial you will learn how to create a sphere using Photoshop effects.

1. Create a new document (Ctrl+N) with a white background. Create new layer (Layer/New/Layer). Make a circle selection.

2. Using Paint Bucket Tool fill it with color #001122. Name this layer "gradient".

3. Go to Filter/Render/Lightning effects/Flashlight.

4. Deselect (Ctrl+D).

5. Using Dodge and Blur Tool make a glow inside our sphere. You can use also Image/Adjustments/Brightness and contrast.



6. Draw an ellipse.

7. Add Vector mask . And fill it with black and white gradient in Linear gradient mode .

8. Using ellipse tool draw a circle and cut it with elliptical selection. Add Vector mask. Fill your line with Radial gradient tool.

9. Dublicate the line. Go to Edit/Transform/Rotate (Ctrl+T) and rotate it.

10. You can add some elements and it's done.

Light of future

Light of future effect using Photoshop filters.

Light of Future Tutorial: Final Result

Step 1.

Create a new 300x300 px document with the transparent background. Create a new layer ("Layer 1") and fill it by the black color. Apply Filter > Render > Lens Flare and use the settings like shown in the pic.1.(Place the dagger in the center).

image 1

Then apply Filter > Render > Lens Flare again and choose Lens Type : 50-300mm Zoom, Brightness : 120%, and move the dagger in the lower right corner. Repeat this operation but make the brightness bigger and move the dagger in the upper right corner. You can also add flashes in the left corners.

Step 2.

Now apply Filter > Distort > Wave and use the settings like shown in the pic.2.

image 2

Create a new layer ("Layer 2") and fill it by the black color (Apply Edit > Fill ). Apply Filter > Render > Lens Flare and use the settings like shown in the pic.3.(Place the dagger in the center).

image 3

Now apply Filter > Distort > Pinch with the following settings: Amount ->-100%. And then press Ctrl+F (to repeat the operation). Set the Blending Mode for the layer as " Hard Light ".

Step 3.

Create a new layer ("Layer 3") and fill it by the black color. Then make " Lens Flare " procedure like shown in the pic.4.

image 4

Now draw two thick (15 pix) lines and apply Lens Flare filter (Place the dagger in the center) like shown in the pic.5.

image 5

Apply Filter > Brush Strokes > Accented Edges with the following settings: Edge Width->6; Edge Brightness->38; Smoothness->5 . Apply Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur ( Radius ->2 pixels) and then apply Filter > Sketch > Chrome with the following settings: Detail->10; Smooth->0 . Now apply Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation with the following settings: Colorize->ON; Hue->0; Saturation->70; Lightness->-26 . Set the Blending Mode for the layer as "Soft Light".

Step 4.

Duplicate "Layer1 " and drag it on the top of the layers. Apply Filter > Distort > Spherize with the following setting: Amount->-100 . Press Ctrl+F two times. Then apply Image > Adjustments > Levels and use the settings like shown in the pic.6.

image 6

Press Ctrl+M and use the settings like shown in the pic.7.

image 7

Step 5.

Now duplicate "Layer 1 copy 1" two times and transform each layer on 90 (apply Edit > Transform ). Set the Blending Mode for the " Layer 1 copy 1 " as " Exclusion ", for the " Layer 1 copy 2 " as " Soft Light ", for "Layer 1 copy 3" as "Screen". And that's it.

Light of Future Tutorial: Final Result

Source: www.psd-tutorials.com

multi coloured overlay effect





Welcome back to another one of my blog posts. In this tutorial i show you how to make the hyped up, multi coloured overlay effect.

Ok so you open a brand new image, yep brand new, spanking new in fact, and make the dimensions whatever tickles your pickle… in other words any you like. You then make the background colour black.

We now make a new layer, which will be called “layer 1″ and choose a good sized brush in my example 300 diameter is good, and always use 0% hardness.

You then start colouring in the layer 1, and as many colours as you like, but don’t be dull use bright exciting colours.

We now change the blend mode of layer 1 to overlay. The layer should turn black, well we think its black, but wait for later on.

We now click on the background layer which is the black one, and press new layer. We will have a new layer between the background layer and layer 1.

Now choose a brush you like, change the colour to white, NOTE !!! COLOUR HAS TO BE WHITE OTHERWISE IT WONT WORK, and then you just start brushing away on layer 2. You will get something like what i have but of course yours will be different as we’re using different brushes. If you need good brushes go to : http://www.brusheezy.com/

Source: www.cimg.co.uk



AVIAN Studios Logo

In one of my Google surfing days I came across this beautiful design and i fell in love with the 'simple yet beautiful' concept suddenly. I am a novice in Photoshop and the question in my mind was “can i ever make such a design using Photoshop?”. This tutorial is my attempt to recreate the design using Photoshop.

Preview of Final Results

Avian Studios Logo Photoshop Tutorial

Avian Studios Logo Photoshop Tutorial

Step 1 – Create a new document

Let us start our tutorial with a new document. Set the width to 540 pixels and height to 340 pixels. Change the name to 'avain studios'. Click on OK to create a new file.

dgtb3r9p_145fwpbpvdr_b

Double click on the 'background layer' to Unlock it.

dgtb3r9p_146hjwtkqkf_b

Step 2 – Create the background

In every design a good background strengthens the foreground elements to a great extent. But always keep the background simple and clean. Ok now let us create a simple background. Select the Paint bucket tool from the tool-box . You can also use the keyboard shortcut 'g'.

dgtb3r9p_148dnsv5349_b

Then Click on the Set Foreground Colour.

dgtb3r9p_150ddqf79vt_b

Which will open the Colour-Picker window. In that window set the 'RGB' values as R-215,G-204,B-179. Then Click on Ok and apply the tool.

dgtb3r9p_152cdb5dtgm_b



Photoshop keyboard shortcuts archive

Keyboard shortcuts have major benefits in improving speed and efficiency when working with Photoshop. Shortcuts allow use to quickly switch to a different tool without going to the tools panels. This can save a considerable amount of time when working with PS.

I previously wrote a post on the keyboard shortcuts for Photoshop which can be found here. The shortcuts from this post were from the default Adobe website. However, I found an excellent resource for shortcuts over at: morris-photographs. The photographer Trevor Morris has a great series of Photoshop keyboard shortcuts for most versions of Photoshop. I believe the version range from PS5 to PS CS4 which is seven series. These shortcuts are available to download in PDF format for free. To download these files, simply right click and select save as.

If you want to find out about quick tip for Photoshop then checkout this series.

Using the extract filter in Photoshop

In this tutorial you will learn how to extract the background from an image using the extract filter in Photoshop. Extracting removes the background and leaves the object in place. You can also use the pen tool or the quick mask tool to remove the background, but I find using the extract filter easier.

Using the extract filter in Photoshop

Step 1


Open an image in Photoshop. I have used a free stock image, but you can use whatever image you wish.




Step 2

Select the Extract filter by going to Filter > Extract. On the Tool options to the right, adjust the brush size to your liking. Then paint over the areas of the image to create an edge of where you want to retain like below. Notice that you don’t have to be too accurate with the paint brush as any mistakes can be later corrected.




Step 3

Select the Fill tool (G) on the tools panel on the left and fill in the selection. The selection will appear in a blue colour. If you wish to see what your image will look like you can click the preview button, otherwise click ok.




Step 4

My extracted image has not come out perfectly, but this can easily be fixed. Select the History Brush tool and recover any missing areas. Then select the eraser tool to remove any extra areas.



Once you have corrected the damaged area you will be left with the following image.



Now you can add any background of your choice to the image.