Creating a sphere

Reading this Photoshop tutorial you will learn how to create a sphere using Photoshop effects.

1. Create a new document (Ctrl+N) with a white background. Create new layer (Layer/New/Layer). Make a circle selection.

2. Using Paint Bucket Tool fill it with color #001122. Name this layer "gradient".

3. Go to Filter/Render/Lightning effects/Flashlight.

4. Deselect (Ctrl+D).

5. Using Dodge and Blur Tool make a glow inside our sphere. You can use also Image/Adjustments/Brightness and contrast.



6. Draw an ellipse.

7. Add Vector mask . And fill it with black and white gradient in Linear gradient mode .

8. Using ellipse tool draw a circle and cut it with elliptical selection. Add Vector mask. Fill your line with Radial gradient tool.

9. Dublicate the line. Go to Edit/Transform/Rotate (Ctrl+T) and rotate it.

10. You can add some elements and it's done.

Light of future

Light of future effect using Photoshop filters.

Light of Future Tutorial: Final Result

Step 1.

Create a new 300x300 px document with the transparent background. Create a new layer ("Layer 1") and fill it by the black color. Apply Filter > Render > Lens Flare and use the settings like shown in the pic.1.(Place the dagger in the center).

image 1

Then apply Filter > Render > Lens Flare again and choose Lens Type : 50-300mm Zoom, Brightness : 120%, and move the dagger in the lower right corner. Repeat this operation but make the brightness bigger and move the dagger in the upper right corner. You can also add flashes in the left corners.

Step 2.

Now apply Filter > Distort > Wave and use the settings like shown in the pic.2.

image 2

Create a new layer ("Layer 2") and fill it by the black color (Apply Edit > Fill ). Apply Filter > Render > Lens Flare and use the settings like shown in the pic.3.(Place the dagger in the center).

image 3

Now apply Filter > Distort > Pinch with the following settings: Amount ->-100%. And then press Ctrl+F (to repeat the operation). Set the Blending Mode for the layer as " Hard Light ".

Step 3.

Create a new layer ("Layer 3") and fill it by the black color. Then make " Lens Flare " procedure like shown in the pic.4.

image 4

Now draw two thick (15 pix) lines and apply Lens Flare filter (Place the dagger in the center) like shown in the pic.5.

image 5

Apply Filter > Brush Strokes > Accented Edges with the following settings: Edge Width->6; Edge Brightness->38; Smoothness->5 . Apply Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur ( Radius ->2 pixels) and then apply Filter > Sketch > Chrome with the following settings: Detail->10; Smooth->0 . Now apply Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation with the following settings: Colorize->ON; Hue->0; Saturation->70; Lightness->-26 . Set the Blending Mode for the layer as "Soft Light".

Step 4.

Duplicate "Layer1 " and drag it on the top of the layers. Apply Filter > Distort > Spherize with the following setting: Amount->-100 . Press Ctrl+F two times. Then apply Image > Adjustments > Levels and use the settings like shown in the pic.6.

image 6

Press Ctrl+M and use the settings like shown in the pic.7.

image 7

Step 5.

Now duplicate "Layer 1 copy 1" two times and transform each layer on 90 (apply Edit > Transform ). Set the Blending Mode for the " Layer 1 copy 1 " as " Exclusion ", for the " Layer 1 copy 2 " as " Soft Light ", for "Layer 1 copy 3" as "Screen". And that's it.

Light of Future Tutorial: Final Result

Source: www.psd-tutorials.com

multi coloured overlay effect





Welcome back to another one of my blog posts. In this tutorial i show you how to make the hyped up, multi coloured overlay effect.

Ok so you open a brand new image, yep brand new, spanking new in fact, and make the dimensions whatever tickles your pickle… in other words any you like. You then make the background colour black.

We now make a new layer, which will be called “layer 1″ and choose a good sized brush in my example 300 diameter is good, and always use 0% hardness.

You then start colouring in the layer 1, and as many colours as you like, but don’t be dull use bright exciting colours.

We now change the blend mode of layer 1 to overlay. The layer should turn black, well we think its black, but wait for later on.

We now click on the background layer which is the black one, and press new layer. We will have a new layer between the background layer and layer 1.

Now choose a brush you like, change the colour to white, NOTE !!! COLOUR HAS TO BE WHITE OTHERWISE IT WONT WORK, and then you just start brushing away on layer 2. You will get something like what i have but of course yours will be different as we’re using different brushes. If you need good brushes go to : http://www.brusheezy.com/

Source: www.cimg.co.uk



AVIAN Studios Logo

In one of my Google surfing days I came across this beautiful design and i fell in love with the 'simple yet beautiful' concept suddenly. I am a novice in Photoshop and the question in my mind was “can i ever make such a design using Photoshop?”. This tutorial is my attempt to recreate the design using Photoshop.

Preview of Final Results

Avian Studios Logo Photoshop Tutorial

Avian Studios Logo Photoshop Tutorial

Step 1 – Create a new document

Let us start our tutorial with a new document. Set the width to 540 pixels and height to 340 pixels. Change the name to 'avain studios'. Click on OK to create a new file.

dgtb3r9p_145fwpbpvdr_b

Double click on the 'background layer' to Unlock it.

dgtb3r9p_146hjwtkqkf_b

Step 2 – Create the background

In every design a good background strengthens the foreground elements to a great extent. But always keep the background simple and clean. Ok now let us create a simple background. Select the Paint bucket tool from the tool-box . You can also use the keyboard shortcut 'g'.

dgtb3r9p_148dnsv5349_b

Then Click on the Set Foreground Colour.

dgtb3r9p_150ddqf79vt_b

Which will open the Colour-Picker window. In that window set the 'RGB' values as R-215,G-204,B-179. Then Click on Ok and apply the tool.

dgtb3r9p_152cdb5dtgm_b



Photoshop keyboard shortcuts archive

Keyboard shortcuts have major benefits in improving speed and efficiency when working with Photoshop. Shortcuts allow use to quickly switch to a different tool without going to the tools panels. This can save a considerable amount of time when working with PS.

I previously wrote a post on the keyboard shortcuts for Photoshop which can be found here. The shortcuts from this post were from the default Adobe website. However, I found an excellent resource for shortcuts over at: morris-photographs. The photographer Trevor Morris has a great series of Photoshop keyboard shortcuts for most versions of Photoshop. I believe the version range from PS5 to PS CS4 which is seven series. These shortcuts are available to download in PDF format for free. To download these files, simply right click and select save as.

If you want to find out about quick tip for Photoshop then checkout this series.

Using the extract filter in Photoshop

In this tutorial you will learn how to extract the background from an image using the extract filter in Photoshop. Extracting removes the background and leaves the object in place. You can also use the pen tool or the quick mask tool to remove the background, but I find using the extract filter easier.

Using the extract filter in Photoshop

Step 1


Open an image in Photoshop. I have used a free stock image, but you can use whatever image you wish.




Step 2

Select the Extract filter by going to Filter > Extract. On the Tool options to the right, adjust the brush size to your liking. Then paint over the areas of the image to create an edge of where you want to retain like below. Notice that you don’t have to be too accurate with the paint brush as any mistakes can be later corrected.




Step 3

Select the Fill tool (G) on the tools panel on the left and fill in the selection. The selection will appear in a blue colour. If you wish to see what your image will look like you can click the preview button, otherwise click ok.




Step 4

My extracted image has not come out perfectly, but this can easily be fixed. Select the History Brush tool and recover any missing areas. Then select the eraser tool to remove any extra areas.



Once you have corrected the damaged area you will be left with the following image.



Now you can add any background of your choice to the image.

Quick tip 23 – Clear purge cache

This is part 23 of the Photoshop quick tip series where you will learn how to clear the purge cache. The purge cache is basically the temporary files such as the undo states that Photoshop stores so that data can be easily retrieved at any point.

The process of storing all these files will cause Photoshop to slow down considerably especially if you have an older machine. This will also depend on the length of time you used Photoshop, so if you use PS for a short period of time then everything should be fine. However, if you use PS for longer periods of time, you may start to notice a slow down in the performance as PS is consuming lots of RAM memory. If you have an update to date machine with plenty of free RAM then clearing the purge should not be a problem.

To clear the purge in Photoshop, go to the menu bar then select Image > Purge this will remove all the temporary files, and your computer should run faster.

Remember to subscribe to keep up to date with all the Photoshop quick tips.